And then came the coronavirus
15/10/2020

And then came the coronavirus

With an export ratio of 73 percent, the manufacture of machinery for sewing and clothing technology is one of the strongest export branches in the German mechanical-engineering and plant-construction sector. In 2019 almost 6,700 employees produced machinery and accessories with a value of around € 644 million. The forecasts for 2020 looked good. Then came [...] Read more...

A post Corona outlook for textiles: six ideas
29/04/2020

A post Corona outlook for textiles: six ideas

Production outages, closed shops, collapsed delivery chains and sales losses in the billions – Corona threatens to tear the textile industry to shreds like a shirt in recycling. Yet one of the most ancient industries has already survived many crises – and always taken up the threads again. How the same thing can be done [...] Read more...

Message tags in textiles
11/03/2020

Message tags in textiles

Just about everybody has received them: many of us have positively hundreds of them in the wardrobe: tiny message tags, fixed inside items of clothing, carrying information on how to protect the textiles concerned. But how do they get there? And who decides on what they say? The connoisseur takes a look at them in [...] Read more...

Disruption with digital printing
06/02/2020

Disruption with digital printing

Experts are in agreement: digitalisation will turn the analogue industry upside down. The textile and fashion industry also needs to confront the digital transformation, as digital printing expert Joachim Rees warns. Mr Rees, in general terms: is Germany ignoring digitalisation at the moment? When new products are introduced on the German market, there’s an unwritten [...] Read more...

Things that melt in Switzerland
03/02/2020

Things that melt in Switzerland

There is something of a tradition of melting things in Switzerland: snow on the Alps turns to water, chocolate becomes chocolate fondue, cheese melts for raclette. The Swiss engineering firm Maschinenbau-AG Leister Technologies has continued the tradition – and is now getting industrial fabrics to melt with their Seamtek welding machines. As one year gives [...] Read more...

Sustainably wise
11/10/2019

Sustainably wise

There is the well-known saying: “It is easy to be wise after the event.” But one can also be wise in advance – sustainable, that is. This applies to several of the fashion labels, that can be found regularly at the Neonyt sustainability hub. They were wise enough to become sustainable, even before the introduction [...] Read more...

Green products Italian style
14/05/2019

Green products Italian style

From the use of renewable energy and production-process optimisation to new products and machines: tape specialists Framis Italia are taking extensive measures to reduce the negative impact on the environment. Making their third presentation at Texprocess, the Italian company is this year spotlighting their ecological approach along the entire process chain within the framework of [...] Read more...

“Our industry offers interesting apprenticeships in all fields”
02/05/2019

“Our industry offers interesting apprenticeships in all fields”

With the Jobwall of the Texpertise Network of Messe Frankfurt, Techtextil and Texprocess bring together qualified young people with companies from the textile sector. We spoke with Ingeborg Neumann, President of Germany’s textil+mode trade association, about how attractive the sector is for young people and about new career opportunities. What are the current issues with [...] Read more...

Blocking the escape of microfibres
10/04/2019

Blocking the escape of microfibres

Microplastics have become a huge social problem. Particles that are invisible to the human eye are now present in abundance in the world’s oceans. Textiles and clothing made from synthetic fibre are among the major causes of environmental pollution. They release microfibres during wet processing at the manufacturing stage, in use and when washed. The [...] Read more...

Architects of the Digital Textile Micro Factory
12/05/2017

Architects of the Digital Textile Micro Factory

“Here, we now have flexible processing technology with well-wired multifarious partner landscapes”, says Christian Kaiser describing the smart factory. However, pre-defined interfaces and a good plan are necessary until something like this can work. Kaiser is a research assistant at the German Institutes for Textile and Fibre Research Denkendorf and has fully interlinked the Micro [...] Read more...

Finishing for airy results

Anyone who irons shirts regularly can only dream of this: a shirt finisher that makes this task completely superfluous. Even the cuffs look flawless. Kirsten Rein Read more...

Thinking in 3D from the outset

From planning to the communications department, from design to production – Gerber Technologies have digitalised the entire workflow and see, in the digital printing of textiles, more creativity, greater flexibility and faster marketing, providing advantages for both designers and production professionals. Kirsten Rein Read more...

Personalisation as a business model

There are, says Holger Max Lang from Lectra, in his lecture for the Texprocess Forum, several trends that will determine our future. The more than two billion millennials on Earth will make their impact felt. The use of social media has been with them from the cradle onwards, so to speak, and has turned them ... Read more...

Smart pillows and luxury car seats

What have smart pillows and car seats for luxury limousines got in common? At first sight, not a lot! At Texprocess there were demonstrations of how they can be manufactured not only as prototypes, but also as mass-produced items that are nevertheless individually customised, on a fully operational production line – or rather in a ... Read more...

Strickschuhe

Knitted in 12 minutes

Fast sports shoes! Designed on computer in five and a half minutes, knitted in twelve minutes. How this works is demonstrated by machine-manufacturer Stoll (Reutlingen) and the German Institutes of Textile and Fibre Research Denkendorf (DITF) in the Digital Textile Micro Factory at Techtextil and Texprocess. Kirsten Rein Read more...

The four elements

Students at the Lower Rhine Polytechnic (Hochschule Niederrhein) needed to come up with some ideas. Epson’s commission ran: “To develop new production models – From digital print to assembly”. The ideas which these young people produced can be seen on the exhibition stand. Following print, cut and welding, a mini-collection has been produced, but a ... Read more...

Und dann kam Corona
15/10/2020

Und dann kam Corona

Mit einer Exportquote von 73 Prozent gehört der Maschinenbau für Näh- und Bekleidungstechnik zu den exportstärksten Zweigen des deutschen Maschinen- und Anlagenbaus. Im Jahr 2019 fertigten die fast 6700 Beschäftigten Maschinen und Zubehör im Wert von rund 644 Mio. Euro. Die Prognosen für 2020 sahen gut aus. Dann kam Corona.   Um fast ein Viertel [...] Weiterlesen...

Sechs Ideen für eine textile Post-Corona-Perspektive
29/04/2020

Sechs Ideen für eine textile Post-Corona-Perspektive

Produktionsausfälle, geschlossene Geschäfte, zusammengebrochene Lieferketten und Umsatzverluste in Milliardenhöhe – Corona droht die Textilbranche zu zerreißen wie ein Shirt im Recycling. Doch eine der ältesten Industrien hat schon viele Krisen erlebt – und den Faden stets neu aufgenommen. Wie das auch diesmal gelingen kann, dafür hat Kai Nebel, Experte für textile Verfahrenstechnik an der Hochschule [...] Weiterlesen...

Taschenpost im Textil
11/03/2020

Taschenpost im Textil

So gut wie jeder hat sie schon bekommen; manch eine(r) hat gar Hunderte davon im Kleiderschrank: Kleine Taschenbotschaften, befestigt im Inneren von Kleidungsstücken, beschriftet mit textilüberlebenswichtigen Informationen. Wie aber kommen sie dorthin? Und wer entscheidet, was draufsteht? Der Kenner wirft noch vorm Kauf im Laden einen Blick drauf, die meisten spätestens dann, wenn der erste [...] Weiterlesen...

Disruption mit Druck
06/02/2020

Disruption mit Druck

Experten sind sich einig: Die Digitalisierung wird kaum einen analogen Stein auf dem anderen lassen. Auch die Textil- und Modeindustrie muss sich der digitalen Transformation stellen, mahnt Digitaldruckexperte Joachim Rees. Herr Rees, ganz allgemein gefragt: Verschläft Deutschland gerade die Digitalisierung? Es gibt bei der Einführung neuer Produkte auf dem deutschen Markt ein ungeschriebenes Gesetz, das [...] Weiterlesen...

Schweizer Schmelzen
03/02/2020

Schweizer Schmelzen

Das Schmelzen von Dingen hat Tradition in der Schweiz: Alpenschnee wird zu Wasser, Schokolade zu Fondue, Käse zu Raclette. Die Schweizer Maschinenbau-AG Leister Technologies bleibt dem Prinzip treu – und bringt mit ihren Seamtek-Schweißmaschinen Industriegewebe zum Schmelzen. Gerade zwischen den Jahren hat das Schmelzen nicht nur am Matterhorn Hochkonjunktur: Während an Weihnachten der Geschenkebesorgungsstress langsam [...] Weiterlesen...

Nachhaltig klug
05/11/2019

Nachhaltig klug

Ein bekanntes Sprichwort sagt: „Hinterher ist man immer klüger.“ Doch man kann auch vorher klug sein – oder nachhaltig. Letzteres gilt für einige Mode-Labels, die regelmäßig auf dem Nachhaltigkeits-Hub Neonyt anzutreffen sind. Sie waren schon vor der Einführung des „Grünen Knopfes“, dem staatlichen Metasiegel für fair und ökologisch produzierte Kleidung, klug genug, nachhaltig zu sein. [...] Weiterlesen...

„Unsere Industrie hat in allen Bereichen spannende Ausbildungsberufe anzubieten“
02/05/2019

„Unsere Industrie hat in allen Bereichen spannende Ausbildungsberufe anzubieten“

Mit der Jobbörse des Texpertise Networks der Messe Frankfurt bringen unter anderem die Techtextil und die Texprocess qualifizierten Textil-Nachwuchs mit Unternehmen der Branche zusammen. Wir haben mit Ingeborg Neumann, Präsidentin des Branchenverbands textil+mode, über die Attraktivität der Branche für den Nachwuchs und neue Berufsfelder gesprochen. Was sind die aktuellen Themen im Hinblick auf Nachwuchs? Ingeborg [...] Weiterlesen...

Mikrofasern vermeiden
10/04/2019

Mikrofasern vermeiden

Mikroplastik hat sich zu einem großen Gesellschaftsproblem ausgewachsen. Die für das Auge unsichtbaren Teilchen finden sich vor allem in den Weltmeeren. Zu den großen Verursachern der Umweltbelastung zählen Textilien und Bekleidung aus Synthesefasern. Sie geben Mikrofasern bei Nassprozessen in der Textilfertigung, durch Gebrauch und Waschen frei. Das Ausmaß lässt sich jedoch vermindern, denn in allen [...] Weiterlesen...

Finishing für luftige Ergebnisse

Davon kann jeder nur träumen, der regelmäßig Hemden bügelt: ein Hemdenfinisher, der genau diesen Arbeitsschritt überflüssig macht. Selbst die Manschetten sehen makellos aus. Kirsten Rein Weiterlesen...

Direkt in 3D denken

Von der Planung bis zum Berichtswesen, vom Design bis zur Produktion – Gerber Technologies digitalisiert den Workflow und sieht im digitalen Textildruck mehr Kreativität, Flexibilität und schnellere Vermarktung für Designer und Produktionsprofis. Kirsten Rein Weiterlesen...

Personalisierung als Geschäftsmodell

Mehrere Trends bestimmen unsere Zukunft, sagt Holger Max Lang von Lectra in seinem Vortag auf dem Texprocess Forum. Den mehr als zwei Milliarden Millenials auf der Erde wurde der Umgang mit Social Media quasi in die Wiege gelegt und hat sie zu Online-Shoppern gemacht. Zudem wird die Digitalisierung die Welt bestimmen. Hier hat China den ... Weiterlesen...

Smarte Kopfkissen und Luxus-Autositze

Was haben smarte Kopfkissen und Autositze für Luxuslimousinen gemeinsam? Auf den ersten Blick nichts. Auf der Texprocess wurde gezeigt, wie sie in einer Produktionsstraße bzw. Smart Textile Micro Factory nicht nur als Prototypen, sondern serienmäßig und trotzdem individuell und vollautomatisiert hergestellt werden können. Kirsten Rein Weiterlesen...

Strickschuhe

In 12 Minuten gestrickt

Schnelle Sportschuhe! In fünfeinhalb Minuten am Computer entworfen, in zwölf Minuten gestrickt. Wie das geht, zeigen der Maschinenhersteller Stoll (Reutlingen) und die Deutschen Institute für Textil- und Faserforschung Denkendorf (DITF) in der Digital Textile Micro Factory der Techtextil und Texprocess. Kirsten Rein Weiterlesen...

Die vier Elemente

Studierende der Fachhochschule Niederrhein sollten sich Gedanken machen. Der Auftrag von Epson lautete: „Neue Produktionsmodelle – Vom digitalen Druck bis zur Konfektion“ zu entwickeln. Wie sich die jungen Menschen das vorstellen, ist auf dem Messestand zu sehen. Nach Druck, Schnitt und dem Verschweißen ist eine Mini-Kollektion entstanden, die sich aber globalen Themen widmet. „Wir wollten ... Weiterlesen...